Loading...
Visitor Testimonials 2016-11-22T21:43:18+00:00

Visitor Testimonials

We at Northern Lights Resort believe that the true measure of our success is our guest’s satisfaction. We strive to not only meet, but exceed your expectations for a fun and memorable north woods “cabin” vacation.

When was the last time you had a truly unforgettable vacation experience? Come be our guests and see for yourselves what everyone is raving about!

Here is what our guests are saying:

I wanted to send a note, detailing our excellent stay at Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting. Our party of eight has been doing an annual fishing trip for over 25 years. This year was our first at Northern Lights. The Moose cabin was great! Great, as defined by; very clean and ready when promised, beds were in very good condition with newer bedding, kitchen was very well appointed with new dishware, cookware and flatware, all appliances and amenities working and in good order and a wonderful view of the lake. All of our needs and expectations were met or exceeded and with a pleasant response. The staff was always available, or offered to be available if outside of normal operating hours. Thanks for a great and memorable trip. We will be back and some of us are considering a family vacation in the summer.
Doug Rup
Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting is just an awesome resort & everything is clean and just like home.
Lynn Geistfeld
We love coming to Northern Lights Resort because there is such an enormous variety of fun activities to engage in. We instantly feel very relaxed and ready to kick back. We plan to come back every year to Northern Lights and stay right off the beautiful lake of Kabetogama!
Greg & Tina Heller
There are unlimited opportunities for safe, clean family fun! What a beautiful resort in a beautiful setting! We so glad we found you!
Brent & Rachel Smith
Steve & Tracy, Thank you very much for the canoe rental. The canoe trip was a true adventure that we all thoroughly enjoyed. Kabetogama and Namakan are a wonderland and your personal touch in assisting us was truly special in making this a great week
Jim Prombo July, 2015 -Guest Comment Card Family Canoe Trip, Fished and Camped Voyageurs.
“Everything you could need and more!” — We rented the Muskie cabin for four days. King size bed was very comfortable, kitchen had all the pots, pans, and accessories, and the shower had what seemed like endless hot water. The view of the lake was awesome from the deck and private dock. Being this far north and away from city lights, the stars are amazing at night. The red squirrels and ducks are fun to watch while sitting outside. We used this location as our base camp to visit the 3 visitors centers and hike the trails. Highly recommend!
Guest from Cloquet, MN September 2015, traveled with family reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Relaxing Enjoyable Stay” –Our stay was a relaxing and enjoyable time. Our cabin the Caribou worked well for our needs (we were in need with a cabin that could accommodate a wheelchair).The staff were very attentive, accommodating and overall committed to providing you with your needs as best they can. Our pontoon rental also met our needs for persons as well as navigation on the lake. Thank you Steve, Tracy, Kevin and staff for a great time!!
Scott S. August 2015, reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
Family run, family friendly resort in the great white north” — This is a small, cabin oriented, waterfront resort located on Lake Kabetogama in extreme northern Minnesota. Perfect for fisherman, boaters and those that enjoy outdoor life as it is right on the edge of the National Park. There are activities including crafts and ice cream socials plus plenty of quiet time.”
Kendra S. Florida Stayed June 2014 reviewed Northern Lights Resort - 5 Star.
“Thanks to Steve and Tracy, proprietors of this wonderful resort for a very special vacation. Our cabin was spotless, beautifully decorated and furnished, with an awesome view. We hated to leave, and look forward to many more relaxing days in years to come in this very unique place.”
Mary Lou Murphy, 2014 reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Thanks to Steve and Tracy, proprietors of this wonderful resort for a very special vacation. Our cabin was spotless, beautifully decorated and furnished, with an awesome view. We hated to leave, and look forward to many more relaxing days in years to come in this very unique place.”
Mary Lou Murphy, 2014 reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Beautiful place- the cabins are beautiful, the lodge, the store, the docks, We used their boat and they cleaned our fish. This is a great place for a family vacation to relax and enjoy.”
Laura Lacy reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
I wanted to send a note, detailing our excellent stay at Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting. Our party of eight has been doing an annual fishing trip for over 25 years. This year was our first at Northern Lights. The Moose cabin was great! Great, as defined by; very clean and ready when promised, beds were in very good condition with newer bedding, kitchen was very well appointed with new dishware, cookware and flatware, all appliances and amenities working and in good order and a wonderful view of the lake. All of our needs and expectations were met or exceeded and with a pleasant response. The staff was always available, or offered to be available if outside of normal operating hours. Thanks for a great and memorable trip. We will be back and some of us are considering a family vacation in the summer.
Nick G. Illinois, Sept 2013 reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“2nd time just as nice!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012
We stayed at NLRO for the 2nd yr. in a row and it was just as lovely as before! The first few days were rainy but the last few made up for it! We did catch a few more fish than last year but not as many as we thought we would (might have a little to do w/a 4 yr. old being on the boat?) but it is such a peaceful place to be and enjoy! We stayed in the Northern cabin this yr.as the Muskie wasn’t available. Very clean and nice!! The queen bed in the one bedroom was a little uncomfortable for me and I slept in the twin instead. The chipmunks were a big hit again and the girls(4&13) even got to see a turtle laying it’s eggs. The Eagles are my favorite and we saw one eating a seagull. Never knew they would eat a gull but now I do!! Also caught my first Walleye it was 18 inc. so we had to release it but it was fun to catch! We had a great trip and it went way to fast again. Still no time to hike but maybe next year. Thanks to all who are there and run the place for another great vacation!!!
* S.K. May 2012, traveled with family, reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Amazing service, beautiful location, wonderful cabins, can’t beat it!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2010
We hosted my daughter’s wedding at Northern Lights – and booked the resort for our friends and family. Everyone had a wonderful time, the service and help from the staff was unbelievable, and the wedding was a huge success – even with the rain! Friends and family loved the cabins which are beautifully decorated and very clean and welcoming. Lots of fun water activities, campfires, horseshoes, and beautiful scenery. What a great place!!!
Lori B. Stayed September 2010, reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
Thank You!!! — The generosity of everyone that contributed and has thoughts and prayers for those that serve our country is very much appreciated. This is just one more example why Northern Lights is above and beyond other resorts. We too are looking forward to 2010.
Les Pratt
“Steve and Tracy, I want you to know the whole family thought our experience was great at NLR! Even though it rained some, the kids still had a great time playing ping-pong, swimming, and using the water toys such as the hydro-bikes and water trampoline.

The accommodations were better then any other northern resort we’ve stayed at and the value was excellent!!

Your staff couldn’t be more friendly or accommodating. It seemed like all questions were answered and requests fulfilled in short order. Keep up the good work I’m confident we’ll be back again!”

Pat & Glenda S. -Guest Comment Card August, 2015 -Stayed in Teton Lodge
Northern Lights is a beautiful, peaceful place to make lasting family memories. Our kids love the water toys, games, movies and Kid’s Quest activities.
Kim & Dan Clark
Northern Lights Resort has the most beautiful sunrises & sunsets that a person could imagine. The managers are exceptional and always are there to assist in anything that is needed. The cabins & grounds are kept in pristine condition & are constantly being upgraded. There is nothing that could be added to this resort to make your vacation on Kabetogama a more pleasing experience. I can hardly wait to return next year to enjoy our time in Northern Minnesota!
Mike & LuAnn Obraske
“Best way to enjoy Voyageurs” –Tracy and Steve have a wonderful resort with great cabins and amenities that match the natural beauty of the location. They are wonderful hosts, along with the rest of the staff, who took great care of us. And they were just nice folks who were a pleasure to chat with whenever you had the chance. Delicious welcome BBQ dinner. Very nice boats to rent. The pontoon was awesome! Great toys and small boats on the docks. They were there to lend a hand with whatever you asked. We stayed in one of the smaller cabins, but it was super comfortable and had everything you needed to make three meals a day. This is the kind of place that you come back to year after year.
J.G. Massachusets, Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
“Great Hosts, Beautiful Scenery, Wonderful Family Facility” –We’ve just returned from enjoying a terrific week at this resort. These people are serious about taking care of all your needs. The wildlife was pretty awesome, too. We saw all kinds of ducks, chipmunks, otters, deer, and bald eagles. The fishing wasn’t the best but that can’t be helped. If you are looking for a place to take your family, consider this one. We would go back in a heartbeat!
Barbara W. June 2015 reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Had a great week and looking forward to coming back in the future. Fantastic people! Pretty scenery.
Kari West, 2015 reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“A beautiful property and fantastic owners! Our family has a long tradition of Lake Kabetogama and yours should too.”
Brent Peterson-Hilleque, 2014 reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Awesome place for a vacation” –Our family of four went to NLRO during late August just prior to the kids returning to school. The Muskie cabin we stayed in was clean. The beds were perfect and the kitchen appliances were first rate. The views of the lake were pristine. The fire pit, hammock and dock were great amenities. The staff including the owners were friendly and very helpful with all questions we had about the resort and area activities. The weather was perfect weather with temperatures in the high 70s. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Our family will definitely be back for another family vacation. Room Tip: Review the excellent website for planning your vacation.”
John D. Indiana 2014 Reviewed Northern Lights Resort -5 Star
“LOVE it! Beautiful resort, amazing staff and great fishing! Boys tested, mother approved…kids were entertained by different activities the entire week. Our family can’t wait to come up again in June!
Lauren Connelly Haglund, 2014 reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Incredible Hospitality”
–All we did was rent a canoe from this venue, and we were amazed by how nice and generous everyone was. We chatted with Tracy, the owner, and know we’ll certainly be back to stay in a cabin soon. The facilities were fantastic.
Lisa P Colorado July 2014 reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Paradise!” — My husband and I stayed in the loft of the Yellowstone cabin in May — beautiful expansive view of Lake Kabetogama! So wonderful to see the light change at all times during the day — and evening since it stays light til 10 or so. The view was worth the price of admission in itself. But the modern loft is very nice as well with balconies, a small, but very comfortable bathtub in a lovely large wood-paneled bathroom, comfy living/dining areas. The dirt road from the main “highway” is full of beautiful woods, birds and deer. It’s a magical way to start your day. We found Northern Lights a very relaxing, friendly place to spend some time. I’d love to come back!
BoomerLady, California June 2014 traveled as a couple, reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 4.5 star.
“Great resort!” -Just returned from a week of fishing @ NLR. Excellent time, stayed in the Moose cabin, everything we needed for 8 guys. Cabin was great, views were fantastic & service was exceptional, can not thank the staff [enough] for a great time. Looking forward to a return trip next year.
N.G, Indiana Sept 2013 reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Nice resort on Kabetogama” —We stayed at the Moose cabin at Northern Lights Resort. It has a fabulous view of Lake Kabetogama. If you are tall be prepared for your feet to hang off the edge of the twin beds, they seemed a bit short. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, dishes and utensils. The only thing they didn’t have that we needed was a colander. Bring a towel for the floor because the second bathroom has an odd shaped shower and water tended to sneak out from under the shower curtain – or just use the shower in the first bathroom that has a tub connected to it. We really liked the cabin. We rented a pontoon boat while we were there. They helped us dock it at the lodge area or we could dock the boat on our small dock in front of our cabin during the day. They offered to clean any fish we caught. Unfortunately we didn’t catch anything. We had kids ages 8, 10, 11 and 15 with us. They participated in the Kids Quest programs and enjoyed them. They have a library of VHS and DVD’s that you can check out for free so if the weather or bugs keep you inside you have plenty of choices of what to watch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a lot of water activities for the kids – hydro bikes, canoes, etc. Unfortunately the temps were high 60’s/low 70’s so the kids didn’t go in the lake to test out all the equipment. Sure looked like fun though. Would go back again.”
C.S. Minnesota, Stayed August 2013, traveled with family, reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.
“Wonderful Family Vacation Spot”
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Our family, My brother in-law, wife and son along with the five of us, sent a wonderful week long family vaction at Nothern Lights Resort. Upon arrival, you could just tell that alot of work and tender care was put into the entire resort by the owners and staff: not a thing was out of place: grass was freshly mowed, fresh firewood was placed in the pits, boats were all spotless and the reck hall, playground, cool diving tower & water trampoline were all welcome sights for our kids (and us adults too…but our eyes were brightened by the dock-side sauna!). Our cabin was in perfect for all of us, clean and well maintained with welcoming decore and furnishings with a “up north” theme. The week was sent enjoying all the amenities, but most of all the time with family was priceless and many memories were made! Thank you NLR…we will be back!
Kelly Family, Minnesota 2010, reviewed Northern Lights Resort — 5 star.